correct, the plus 1 is not a seeded tourney, that's why
Posted on: May 26, 2012 at 21:09:14 CT
Delaney and Scott want it. That's b/c if it's the Rose Bowl winner vs Champs bowl winner, one of their two conferences will always be in the championship game, even if in most years it will be #1 vs #2 in the champs bowl and #3 vs #4 in the Rose...
...and that's with the "conference winner" rule only b/c in most years past, the B1G and Pac winners weren't even in the top 5 nationally ( I think last year Oregon and Wisc were barely to 10, if that.
So with a Champ only +1, not only will they keep the best #2 team out (Alabama last year, Texas a few years ago), they will also ensure a B1G/Pac team in the championship game - even if that team isn't even top 5. And that's why it's a terrible idea.